nLab Arthur Besse

Arthur L. Besse is a collective of mathematicians who worked together closely in round-table meetings at various institutions in France, focused mainly on topics in differential geometry. His middle name is Lancelot, but this is never written. The collective has consisted of: Marcel Berger, Hermann Karcher, Jean-Pierre Bourguignon, Geneviève Averous, Nigel Hitchin, Jerry Kazdan, Pierre Pansu, Paul Gauduchon, Dennis DeTurck, Lionel Bérard-Bergery, Andrei Derdzinski, Josette Houillot, Norihito Koiso, Albert Polombo, John A. Thorpe, Jacques Lafontaine, Liane Valère. From the preface of (besse) we find the acknowledgement:

“Enfin, qu’il me soit permis de saluer ici mon prédécesseur et homonyme Jean Besse, de Zürich, qui s’est illustré dans la théorie des fonctions d’une variable complexe…” (Finally, here let me salute my predecessor and namesake Jean Besse of Zürich, who has illustrated himself in the theory of the functions of a complex variable…)

at which point the author(s) refer to the article:

Besse, Jean. Sur le domaine d’existence d’une fonction analytique, Commentarii Mathematici Helvetici 10 (1938).

selected publications

  • Arthur L. Besse , Einstein Manifolds, Springer-Verlag 1987.
category: people

Created on March 20, 2019 at 20:47:55. See the history of this page for a list of all contributions to it.